Shop At Home (it’s not what you think)

I got inspired by this catchy phrase one of my friends left in the comments on my post on spending the other day.

“And, last but not least: shop at home. Have a rummage through the stuff that you already have & you’ll be amazed at what you have. Spend a couple of days using it and playing with it.”

It describes pretty well what i’m doing at the moment, so i thought i’d use it.

I’m minimizing my stuff at the moment, i pulled all this shit out of cupboards and shelves and things and it looked like.. like a family of possums had attacked our house, okay, maybe not that dirty.. I sorted everything into things to sell, things to give away, things to use(up) and things to throw. Anyways, i found all this stuff that i never use, unfinished projects and things..

Here is some stuff that i found

art and craft supplies

books

cosmetics

jewellery

I love and i hate getting rid off  things. I like giving them away, but still, if i spend money and time accumulating those things that i’m planning on using and then i end up not using them, coz of lack of time or whatever, it makes me feel bad. And it’s the things you get and wanna use, like art supplies, that i can’t let go off, coz it feels kind of sad. 

So i thought i’d use them. I’m not spending any money on anything other then on food at the moment anyways(and of curz all the other shitty bills, like rent and electricity..).

I’ll definitely have some fun with that stuff. And imagine how much more space and time and peace of mind i’ll have once i finished all those unfinished projects.

Black Night

 
For example, i did this crazy painting the other day, i just painted this canvas i had black and put it in the rain. If i would have really painted it pitch black it would have turned out better. But nevermind. It’s just, those unfinished projects, the things you always wanted to do and thought you either didn’t know how to do or didn’t have the time for. Just do them. Go crazy with them! Who cares?! You don’t have to sell them and no one else other then you has to like them! Anyways, i’m not finished with this painting, i was actually just drawing a black base. It definitely needs some more colour ..just some..
 
What unfinished projects are waiting in the nooks and crevices of your house?
What would you do if you had half a day spare and could do whatever you wanted(and no cleaning and shit like that, that’s cheating)?

2 responses to “Shop At Home (it’s not what you think)

  1. I’ve been doing that, too. I love to fix things and build things. I have a favourite scavenged, comfortable chair that I like to sit in in the early morning when the light is good.

    Recently, I’ve taken that morning sit-down time to do knitting, garden potting, icecleat replacement, shoe repair – and this morning I will be repairing an umbrella with super-glue.

    Can you imagine, it is still dark here at 7:15 am?

  2. Lol, i think you are on a roll!:)

    I had to google ice cleat, they sound like a good idea should i move back to Germany!

Leave a comment