Coconut Oil Fighting Alzheimer’s And Shit

I heard a lot about coconut oil being good for you lately. It’s kind of funny because it has gotten a pretty bad rep for all the saturated fats it’s supposed to contain. But apparently it is really good for you, for lots of different reasons. Like it contains lauric acid which helps fight viruses and bacteria.

I found this article and the list of conditions coconut oil can help you with seems very extensive.

•it can help with weight loss

•regulate blood pressure

•slow down or reverse the symptoms of Alzheimer’s!

•improve blood sugar levels for diabetics

•and improve heart diseases

to name but a few.

Pretty amazing! I love watching videos about people’s stories and their successes they had with alternative medicine or just a simple change of diet.

It can also be used in skin and hair care for it’s moisturizing and nourishing qualities.

For example

•helps with dry scalp

•helps to regrow and condition damaged hair

•can be used as a massage oil

•treats eczemas

•dermatitis

•and other skin infections

I personally have tried it just a few times on a little patch of eczema I developed and it seems to work really well. Didn’t break my skin out either so far.

Pretty amazing how food is cosmetics and medicine at the same time!! The line is pretty blurry when you use whole foods. Unlike the chemicals that are our modern medicines and cosmetics.

Personally I’m not a huge coconut fan, I like the juice and flesh of fresh coconuts and a little bit of coconut here and there, but some products can taste quite rancid to me. But I bought some organic, extra virgin coconut oil and have used it for spreads and it’s quite nice actually, much better tasting then I thought and if you use it for your skin and hair it’s really rich and you only need a very small amount, so it lasts a long time, which makes it really affordable.

Have you tried any food as a medicine or cosmetic? Let me know in the comments!

10 responses to “Coconut Oil Fighting Alzheimer’s And Shit

  1. Yes I know when I heard previous reports about it being bad for you I couldn’t comprehend that…just couldn’t see that something so natural could be bad for you. Must admit though that I’ve never used it in cooking…we used to rub it all over ourselves and sunbake to go red/brown when I was a young ignorant chickie! Re your question, think olive oil has been used by many cultures as a hair conditioner and to keep wrinkles at bay…a bit shiney for me tho!

    • That’s a good point. I always thought the reports must be right, coz I never quite liked coconut. Except in curries and fresh coconut and certain cakes.. well, you get the picture. Good idea with the olive oil too. You know what you can do is, put the oil in when you get up and by the time you have a shower and wash your hair, it had some time to get soaked up. I’ll try that tomorrow. Will keep you posted.:)

  2. I’ve been using it in my cooking a bit lately. I love it to roast veggies, especially root veggies like carrots and sweet potatoes. I’ve also melted it together with dark chocolate to make “magic freeze” ice-cream topping, which is very fun.

    • Oh, you can do that?! That’s so clever! Better then the chemical crap! I love it more when it’s “raw”, like as a spread instead of for cooking, to me it tastes a bit rancid when cooked. But I might just have to experiment with the dosage.

      • I prefer my spreads to be salty which is why I use it more for cooking, but it goes nicely on a lime pickle sandwhich to cool the heat a bit!

      • I put himalaya salt on it, with some nut butter it turns out quite salty and tasty. Give it a try. I like it, but might not be everyones taste. Regular peanut butter has so much sugar in it, I won’t eat it anymore.:P

  3. One thing on saturated fats and Cholesterol…There is no cholesterol in coconut oil itself, and with non-hydrogenated coconut oil, most people will see little difference or will see an improvement in their HDL (“good”) and a decrease in LDL (“bad”) cholesterol. Some see an increase in total cholesterol, usually as a result of an increase in HDL (“good”) cholesterol.

    The word “hydrogenation” refers to the process that changes liquid vegetable oils into more solid forms, forms that can be easily spread with a knife.

    Start using non-hydrogenated Coconut oil.

  4. Hello I am so delighted I found your weblog, I really found you by error,
    while I was looking on Google for something else, Regardless I am here now and
    would just like to say kudos for a tremendous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look
    over it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS
    feeds, so when I have time I will be back
    to read more, Please do keep up the fantastic jo.

  5. insider internet dating

    Wonderful blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many options out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any recommendations? Cheers!

  6. Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any recommendations for novice blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

